In the hills behind the Taipei 101 skyscraper, two abandoned old coal mines have been rebuilt as new attractions by the city government.
The Dexing coal mine, which is located off Alley 100, Lane 600 of Wuxing Street, was partially reopened in December 2015.
Records show that the mine became operational in 1897 and its production peaked between 1946 and 1948, before high labor costs and an economic downturn in the 1980s left its operations unsustainable.
From the Dexing mine, visitors can take the Tiaomi Historical Trail, which was once used to transport rice, and head to the Hexing coal mine about 4 kilometers away.
The reopened Hexing mine, along with an ecological park and a house covered by the roots of a nearly 100-year-old banyan tree, has become a popular attraction because of the mining town atmosphere.
The Hexing mine is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., while people planning to visit the Dexing mine need to contact local borough chief Lin Cheng-yi (林正義) at 0952-332-886.
(By Yu Kai-hsiang and Kay Liu)