Thailand waives visa-on-arrival fees for Taiwanese tourists

2018/11/06 21:16:14 fontsize-small fontsize-default fontsize-big
CNA file photo

CNA file photo

Bangkok, Nov. 6 (CNA) The Thai government on Tuesday approved a plan to waive visa-on-arrival fees for visitors from 21 countries, including Taiwan, for stays of up to 15 days.

According to Thailand's Immigration Bureau, the initiative is aimed at attracting more foreign visitors to the country and increasing tourism revenue, following a decline in the number of arrivals from China this year.

With effect from Nov. 15 to Jan. 13, the visa-on-arrival fee of 2,000 baht (US$60.67) will be waived for travelers from 21 countries, for visits of no more than 15 days.

Apart from Taiwan, the countries listed are Andora, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

According to Taiwan Tourism Bureau statistics, 532,787 Taiwanese traveled to Thailand in 2016 and 553,804 in 2017.

(By Liu Te-chang and Ko Lin)

Share on Facebook  Share on twitter  Share by email