Taiwan, Luxembourg sign working holiday deal

2018/09/10 21:15:41 fontsize-small fontsize-default fontsize-big
Image taken from Pixabay

Image taken from Pixabay

Taipei, Sept. 10 (CNA) Taiwan and Luxembourg have signed an agreement paving the way for a reciprocal working holiday program between the two countries, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced Monday.

The agreement was signed Aug. 21 by representatives of the two countries. Under the terms of the pact, Taiwan and Luxembourg will each allow an annual quota of 40 citizens aged 18-30 to travel and work in each other's country for up to one year, according to a a ministry press release.

The ministry said it expects the deal to help advance bilateral tourism, cultural and youth exchanges.

It said more details of the program and when it will be officially launched will be announced once they are finalized, by the end of the year at the earliest.

Luxembourg is the 11th European country and the 16th country worldwide to have inked a working holiday deal with Taiwan, the ministry said.

The other 15 are Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Belgium, Hungary, Slovakia, Poland, Austria, Czech Republic, France, Australia, Canada, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.

(By Joseph Yeh)

Share on Facebook  Share on twitter  Share by email