President hosts swearing-in of new government officials and envoys

2018/07/09 18:16:02 fontsize-small fontsize-default fontsize-big
CNA file photo

CNA file photo

Taipei, July 9 (CNA) President Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) hosted a swearing-in ceremony for incoming government officials and envoys at the Presidential Office Monday morning, with Vice President Chen Chien-jen (陳建仁) and Vice Premier Shih Jun-ji (施俊吉) also in attendance, according to the Presidential Office.

A total of 17 new government officials and envoys, headed by the new minister of the Mainland Affairs Council (MAC) Chen Ming-tong (陳明通), took their oaths of office at the ceremony, said a press release from the Presidential Office.

New MAC Deputy Ministers Chiu Chui-cheng (邱垂正) and Chen Ming-chi (陳明祺), Interior Ministry Political Deputy Minister Chen Tsung-yen (陳宗彥), Foreign Ministry Political Deputy Minister Hsu Szu-chien (徐斯儉) and Deputy Minister of the Ocean Affairs Council Chen Yang-yih (陳陽益) also attended the swearing-in ceremony, according to the Presidential Office release.

In addition to the new government officials, Transitional Justice Commission Chairperson Huang Huang-hsiung (黃煌雄), Vice Chairperson Chang Tien-chin (張天欽), full-time members Yang Tsui (楊翠), Yeh Hung-lin (葉虹靈) and Peng Jen-yu (彭仁郁) were also sworn in, the release said.

Incoming diplomatic officials who swore their oaths of office at the ceremony included envoy to France Francois Chih-chung Wu (吳志中), envoy to Italy Andrea Lee (李新穎), envoy to Ireland Pierre Tzu-pao Yang (楊子葆), envoy to Malaysia Ann Hung (洪慧珠), envoy to Brazil Her Jian-gueng (何建功) and envoy to Latvia Andy Chin (金星), the release added.

(By Lu Hsin-hui and Hsu Hsiao-ling)

Share on Facebook  Share on twitter  Share by email